Research and discussion for citizens and decision makers

Nominations for H-GAC Technical Advisory Committee Close Thu, 12/31

Regional transportation plan

Share This

Nominations for serving on the Houston - Galveston Area Council Technical Advisory Council are due this Thursday, December 31, 2015, according to an email sent to current TAC members.

Please contact Rosalind Hebert via email to .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address), or fax to (713) 993-4508 if you are interested.

There is a known crisis of underrepresentation of women and non-white people on H-GAC boards and councils, as noted by Houston Tomorrow. By our quick informal check - googling images of the people on this list, of the 38 current primary members of the H-GAC TAC, only six are women, while half of the people of the Houston region are female. Similarly informally, our count is that only four members of the TAC appear to be hispanic, only one African American, and only one Asian or Middle Eastern. At least 23 members are white with 8 others whose pictures we could not find online. This is a public entity purporting to represent all the people of the most diverse metropolitan region in the nation with influence over the allocation - both geographically and between modes - of several billion dollars in spending every year.

This notice that four days are left to submit nominations was sent to current members of the TAC and does not seem to have been posted anywhere online:

TO:  TPC Members, Alternates, and Ex-Officio Members
      TAC Members and Alternates
      Appointing Officials of TPC and TAC Representatives
The Transportation Policy Council Nominating Committee requests nominations for at large candidates to serve on the Technical Advisory Committee (TAC) for 2016. The purpose of the TAC is to coordinate development of the Regional Transportation Plan (RTP), assist with technical tasks associated with the development of the Transportation Improvement Program (TIP), and to coordinate intermodal planning.
The 16 at-large positions include special interest groups as follows:
·    Cities of less than 50,000 population (1 position)
·    Rural transit (1 position)
·    Urban transit (1 position)
·    Environmental and Planning (5 positions)
·    Citizen Interests and Business Interests (2 positions)
·    Intermodal interests—Bicycle/Pedestrian, Ports, Airports, Railroads, Toll Roads, Freight Shippers/Carriers, and Highway/Transit User Groups (6 positions)
Please submit the attached nomination form with a brief description for each nominee describing his or her experience or background (resumes would be helpful). In order to be considered, your nomination(s) must be received by Thursday, December 31, 2015. Please return nomination forms to Rosalind Hebert via email to .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address), or fax to (713) 993-4508.
The TPC Nominating Committee will review all nominations and make its recommendations to the TPC at the January 22, 2016 meeting. If you have any questions about these nominations, please contact Rosalind Hebert (713) 993-2471, or Alan Clark at (713) 993-4585.

Current people serving in these at- large positions:

Intermodal Interests
Maureen Crocker, Executive Director, Gulf Coast Rail District
Alternate: Dr. Carol Lewis, Director, Texas Southern University, CTTR & Board member, Gulf Coast Rail District

Clark Martinson, Energy Corridor District
Alternate: David Crossley, Houston Tomorrow

Zahid Mahmoud, Port of Houston Authority
Alternate: Charles Russell, P.E., City Engineer, City of Stafford

John Tyler, P.E., Assistant Director, Harris County Toll Road Authority
Alternate: David Gornet, Executive Director, Grand Parkway Association

Mike Wilson, Port of Freeport
Diane Falcon, Port of Galveston

Citizen and Business Interests
Perry D’Armond, (former) President, West Houston Association
Alternate: Irma Sanchez, Vice President of Projects, Westchase District

Bob Eury, President, Central Houston, Inc.
Alternate: Regina Morales, Central Fort Bend Chamber of Commerce

Urban Transit
Ken Fiches, Transit Services Director, Harris County Transit
Vernon Chambers, Harris County Transit

Rural Transit
Paulette Shelton, Fort Bend County
Alternate: Claudia Wicks, Colorado Valley Transit District

Barbara Koslov, President, BayTran
Alternate: Joseph Esch, Director, Economic Development, Missouri City

Christopher LaRue, Woodlands Township
Alternate: Don Norrell, President, Woodlands Township

Mark Loethen, P.E., Assistant Director, City of Houston Public Works & Engineering Department
Alternate: Jack Whaley, P.E., Director, Houston TranStar

Yancy Scott, P.E., County Engineer, Waller County
Alternate: John Isom, Director, Waller Economic Dev. Corp

Jeff Taebel, FAICP, H-GAC
Alternate: VACANT

Patrick Walsh, P.E., Director, Planning and Development, City of Houston
Michael Kramer, Planning and Development Department, City of Houston

Smaller Cities
Greg Smith, City of Shennandoah
Alternate: C.J. Snipes, City Administrator, Fulshear

More from Houston





Remember my personal information

Notify me of follow-up comments?

Submit the word you see below:

Upcoming Events

There are no upcoming events

More Upcoming Events

Livability News


10 Big Things

Hurricane Harvey suggest the need for a fundamentally new paradigm that values the sustainability of life

Mayor Sylvester Turner

Five strategies to facilitate the paradigm shift in transportation

Jay Blazek Crossley

Stop investing in roads to build new neighborhoods that cause other neighborhoods to flood

More Commentary

Houston Tomorrow
1900 Kane St, #111, Houston, TX 77007
Phone 713.523.5757

RSS Feed